OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

Federal Immigration Official Charged with Bribery

3 sources · updated 2026-09-09
Left 0% Center 0% Right 100%
0 left · 0 center · 2 right

What happened

Lukman Owolabi Ganiyu, a former senior officer at U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), and Adeniyi Akeem Somoye were arrested and charged in the Northern District of Texas with conspiracy to receive illegal gratuities by a public official. Federal prosecutors allege that, beginning in December 2019 and continuing until Ganiyu resigned from USCIS in March citing personal reasons, the pair accepted nearly $960,000 in payments to expedite and manipulate immigration benefit applications, including citizenship cases. Investigators say Ganiyu used USCIS systems to reroute files from field offices in Minneapolis, Charlotte, and Houston and to bypass interviews, criminal background checks, and supervisory review. The defendants made their first court appearance on September 2; each faces up to five years in prison and a $250,000 fine if convicted.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 3 articles

3 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 3 of 3
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: U.S. Attorney's Office for the Northern District of Texas, Ryan Raybould, R. Joseph Rothrock, U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Texas Ryan Raybould and FBI Dallas Special Agent in Charge R. Joseph Rothrock
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 3 of 3
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: court filing, press release, arrest filing, charging document
Credits another outlet 0 of 3
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
Unnamed sources 0 of 3
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 7, 06:32 UTC by Fox News, naming its source. First document in the first report, from Fox News (court filing).
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT. Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story — the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Left-leaning coverage has not reported this story at all. Right-leaning coverage reports that former senior USCIS official Lukman Owolabi Ganiyu and accomplice Adeniyi Akeem Somoye were arrested for allegedly taking money to manipulate immigration benefit files, including citizenship. The alleged payments are put at nearly $960,000. Those accounts say the officer skipped background checks, interviews, and standard review, and pulled cases from other field offices to approve them himself. A reader of left-leaning coverage would not know a federal official is accused of selling lawful status. Right-leaning outlets do not agree on the applicants' standing. Breitbart describes them as "ineligible migrant applicants." Fox News does not use that language and treats them as paying citizenship applicants. How many people received citizenship through the scheme, and will those grants be reviewed or revoked?
Bottom line

A former USCIS officer is charged with taking nearly $960,000 to rush citizenship files. Left-leaning outlets have not reported the case Fox News and Breitbart both ran.

The receipts — 6 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • A former senior USCIS official and an accomplice were charged in an alleged nearly $960,000 citizenship bribery scheme numberin Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Ganiyu's annual USCIS salary was $67,732 numberin Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Ganiyu allegedly fast-tracked citizenship for Somoye before approving residency for Somoye's wife and child individual casein Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • FBI Dallas SAC said alleged manipulation of immigration decisions undermines a process essential to national security official statementin Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Ganiyu resigned from USCIS citing personal reasons several months before his arrest contextin Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Somoye's legitimate annual income was $7,506 numberin Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
Fox News and Breitbart, citing the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Texas and court documents, report that Ganiyu and Somoye were arrested on conspiracy charges in an alleged multi-year scheme to sell immigration benefits. Outlets report Ganiyu received about $671,438 via Zelle and Cash App plus $287,830 in cash deposits, while Somoye processed roughly $1.7 million in transfers and deposited $449,010 in cash—figures they contrast with Ganiyu’s roughly $67,732 salary and Somoye’s $7,506 in reported legitimate income. Coverage emphasizes WhatsApp messages and calls with applicants, rerouting of cases from Minneapolis, Charlotte, and Houston, skipped background checks and interviews, and that most applications involved people from African countries. Both outlets quote U.S. Attorney Ryan Raybould calling the alleged conduct a “blatant abuse of public trust” and FBI Dallas SAC R. Joseph Rothrock on national-security implications of manipulating immigration decisions.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it rests on named defendants, a specific federal charging decision in the Northern District of Texas, quoted statements from the U.S. Attorney and FBI Dallas, and court-document figures for transfers, cash deposits, salaries, and communications—not a single uncorroborated claim. What is established is that Ganiyu and Somoye have been arrested and charged and that prosecutors have put those dollar amounts and process-bypass allegations in a complaint; the bribery scheme, ineligible approvals, and concealment of funds remain alleged and unproven in court. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for the unsealed complaint or indictment, any USCIS statement on how many cases are under review, and whether the charges are superseded or go to trial.

3 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.