US Sanctions Cuba for Supporting Iran Amid Crisis
Left 0%
Center 67%
Right 33%
0 left · 2 center · 1 right
What happened
U.S. Secretary of State Marco Rubio announced sanctions on Cuba’s Banco Internacional de Comercio S.A. (BICSA), a Havana-based bank founded in 1993, for providing services to Iran’s Karafarin Bank, which the United States sanctioned in October 2020. The Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control said BICSA has served Karafarin since at least 2022 and set a wind-down period running through November 14, 2026, after which foreign persons and financial institutions dealing with BICSA could be targeted; persons already subject to U.S. jurisdiction remain barred from transacting with the Cuban state-owned bank without OFAC authorization. Cuban President Miguel Díaz-Canel and Foreign Minister Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla condemned the action, calling BICSA a legitimate bank and the sanctions collective punishment of the Cuban people. Cuba is a U.S.-designated State Sponsor of Terrorism.
Sourcing check · Mostly on the record · 3 articles
2 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It started with unnamed sources; a named source appeared 3 hours later. Cuba's foreign minister denied part of it on the record.
What these terms mean and how they're counted
- On the record · names a source 2 of 3
- On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Miguel Díaz-Canel, Marco Rubio, Sara Emilia Marquez and Secretary of State Marco Rubio
- Primary evidence · cites a document or data 0 of 3
- Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: None cited.
- Credits another outlet 0 of 3
- The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
- Unnamed sources 0 of 3
- The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
- On-record denial 1
- A named person or institution says the claim, or part of it, is not true. It is on the record — someone signed their name to it — but it is not confirmation, so it never counts toward On the record. Criticizing or dissenting from a decision is not a denial. The count is how many people or institutions deny it; each is listed with the first article that carried the denial. Here: Cuba's foreign minister (CBS News, Oct 16, 17:03 UTC)
- How it developed
- When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Oct 16, 13:42 UTC by CBS News, with no named source. First named source 3 hours later, from Breitbart.
- Not counted 0
- Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT.
Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story
— the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out
Unpacked
Left-leaning coverage has not reported the sanctions, so those readers miss that the United States listed Cuba's BICSA bank for serving Iran's Karafarin Bank. Right-leaning coverage is the only full account of that listing and is more complete on the official case. It reports BICSA's services to the Iranian bank since at least 2022. It also reports a wind-down for foreign firms that runs through November 14, 2026. Havana's reply, as carried in that coverage, is that the bank is legitimate. Right-leaning coverage does not disagree internally, because only Breitbart has the story.
Right-leaning coverage leads with sanctions on a Cuban bank for serving Iran, framed as terror sponsorship, then quotes the foreign minister that the sanctions aim to "shut down every relief valve" for the Cuban economy.
What business, in what amount, did BICSA actually handle for Karafarin Bank?
Bottom line
Left-leaning outlets have not reported the BICSA sanctions at all, so the only version in circulation is Breitbart's account of a Cuban bank serving Iran and a wind-down that runs through November 14, 2026.
The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
- BICSA has provided services to Iran's Karafarin Bank since at least 2022
- Karafarin Bank was one of 18 major Iranian banks sanctioned by the United States in October 2020
- Persons subject to U.S. jurisdiction have long been prohibited from transacting with BICSA absent OFAC authorization
- Cuba is a U.S.-designated State Sponsor of Terrorism
- Miguel Díaz-Canel called the BICSA sanctions part of an economic and multifaceted war against Cuba
The Right View
Right-leaning coverage, principally Breitbart, presents the BICSA designation as part of a Trump administration pressure campaign against Communist Cuba, quoting Rubio that Washington will not tolerate terrorism, organized crime, or extra-hemispheric anti-American influence in the region and that Cuba has long served as an outpost for Iran and other hostile actors. It cites Cuba’s State Sponsor of Terrorism listing and alleged support for Hezbollah, Hamas, FARC, and ELN, and reports Díaz-Canel’s and Rodríguez’s denunciations. Center reporting from CBS News confirms the Thursday sanctions on Cuba’s state-run bank over claimed Iran ties, quotes Cuba’s foreign minister that the bank is “absolutely legitimate,” and situates the move amid a broader U.S. embargo, oil-import restrictions, power blackouts, medicine shortages, and soaring prices, noting Rubio’s description of closing “escape valves” for the Cuban government.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it involves a named U.S. official announcement, a specific Cuban bank, a named Iranian counterpart already on the U.S. sanctions list, an OFAC wind-down date, and on-the-record Cuban government replies. Established facts are that the United States imposed new sanctions on BICSA citing services to Karafarin Bank and that Cuban officials rejected the move as illegitimate collective punishment. The claim that BICSA provided those services since at least 2022 is a U.S. government assertion not independently documented in the available reporting; Cuba disputes the characterization. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for the OFAC designation notice and any public evidence of BICSA–Karafarin transactions, foreign-bank wind-down activity before the stated deadline, and further official Cuban or Iranian responses.
3 sources
More stories
The week's bottom lines, in your inbox
One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.