Emmys Move from Broadcast TV to Amazon Prime Video
Left 67%
Center 33%
Right 0%
2 left · 1 center · 0 right
What happened
The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced that the Primetime Emmy Awards will leave broadcast television for Amazon’s Prime Video beginning with the 2027 ceremony. Prime Video will be the exclusive global home of the show for six years, and the telecast is to be free to view worldwide, including for people who do not subscribe to Amazon Prime. For decades the Emmys rotated among ABC, CBS, Fox, and NBC. Amazon and the Television Academy did not disclose financial terms. Other major awards shows have also moved or announced moves to streaming, including the SAG Awards on Netflix and the Oscars on YouTube starting in 2029.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 3 articles
3 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report, credited to Deadline.
What these terms mean and how they're counted
- On the record · names a source 3 of 3
- On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Television Academy, Cris Abrego, Amazon and Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
- Primary evidence · cites a document or data 0 of 3
- Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: None cited.
- Credits another outlet 1 of 3
- The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Deadline
- Unnamed sources 1 of 3
- The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this. Here: e.g. “According to Deadline”
- How it developed
- When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Oct 6, 13:26 UTC by The Verge, crediting Deadline, naming its source.
- Not counted 0
- Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT.
Only left-leaning outlets are covering this story
— the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out
Unpacked
Left-leaning coverage has the Emmys leaving broadcast television for Prime Video in 2027, free to watch worldwide. The pact runs for six years. Right-leaning outlets had not covered this as of publication. The split that changes the story is the price. The Verge says Amazon paid around $120 million. NBC News says the terms of the deal were not disclosed. A reader of NBC News, or of the silent right, would miss the reported size of the rights fee.
Left-leaning coverage also disagrees on the lead. Payment is the headline at The Verge, which also treats the show as another live tentpole for streamers. Broadcast exit is the open at NBC News, after decades of rotation among the major networks.
What does Amazon receive in return if the ceremony stays free and requires no Prime subscription?
Bottom line
NBC News covered Amazon taking the Emmys without the $120 million The Verge reported, and right-leaning outlets have not covered the move.
The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
- Amazon paid around $120 million for Emmys rights
- The most recent Emmys telecast drew 6.8 million viewers
- The Emmys had rotated among ABC, CBS, Fox and NBC under a Wheel Deal
- The ceremony will be free to view with no subscription required
- Amazon and the Television Academy said the pact would turn the Emmys into a year-round cultural celebration
The Left View
Left-leaning outlets including The Verge and NBC News reported the joint announcement, framing it as another step in streaming overtaking broadcast. The Verge, citing Deadline, said Amazon paid about $20–25 million a year, or roughly $120 million over six years, and stressed that the stream will be free. NBC News noted the Emmys’ long run on the broadcast “wheel,” Nielsen figures that streaming accounted for 49% of U.S. TV viewing versus 19.5% for broadcast, and that the latest Emmys drew about 6.8 million viewers, down roughly 10% from the prior year. Both placed the deal alongside Netflix’s SAG Awards rights and the Oscars’ planned 2029 move to YouTube. Center-leaning TechCrunch confirmed the 2027 start, six-year term, first dedicated home, and free worldwide access in more than 240 countries, without a dollar figure.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it rests on a named public announcement by Amazon and the Television Academy, a specific start year (2027), a six-year exclusive global deal, and a stated change from rotating broadcast networks to Prime Video. Established facts are the platform shift and the parties’ claim that the ceremony will be free worldwide without a Prime subscription. The reported ~$120 million price is not confirmed by Amazon or the Academy; it is attributed to Deadline. No right-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch next for any official disclosure of deal terms, how free access is actually delivered on Prime Video, and whether 2027 audience figures are released in a form comparable to prior Nielsen broadcast ratings.
3 sources
More stories
The week's bottom lines, in your inbox
One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.