OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

Air Traffic Controllers Rebuke FAA Over Pay Raises

3 sources · updated 2026-09-06
Left 0% Center 33% Right 67%
0 left · 1 center · 2 right

What happened

In April, Congress approved a 3.8 percent pay raise for FAA air traffic controllers in appropriations legislation President Trump signed into law, setting aside $140 million for the increase. Controllers have received only the 1 percent raise given to federal civilian employees; FAA Administrator Bryan Bedford has not released the remaining 2.8 percent, citing statutory language that gives him sole discretion after determining that improvements in scheduling, staffing utilization, or other operational efficiencies have been achieved. Bedford has tied the remaining raise to greater workforce utilization, including raising productive time at the controls from about four hours to five hours per eight-hour shift. On Friday, Sens. Tammy Duckworth and Dick Durbin (D-IL) sent Bedford a letter urging him to approve the rest of the raise immediately. The FAA says it is following the statute and wants to review scheduling practices with the National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA).
Sourcing check · Mostly on the record · 3 articles

2 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It started with unnamed sources; a named source appeared 6 hours later.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 2 of 3
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Sens. Tammy Duckworth and Dick Durbin, Federal Aviation Administration, Tammy Duckworth and Dick Durbin and Bryan Bedford
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 2 of 3
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: on-record letter, letter, legislation
Credits another outlet 0 of 3
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
Unnamed sources 2 of 3
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this. Here: e.g. “one controller”, “a controller from the New York Center who retired in August”
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 4, 16:27 UTC by Washington Examiner, with no named source. First named source 6 hours later, from Washington Examiner. First document 6 hours later, from Washington Examiner (on-record letter).
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT. Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story — the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Left-leaning coverage has not reported this story. Right-leaning coverage says air traffic controllers have turned on FAA Administrator Bryan Bedford for holding back a raise Congress already funded, linking the money to longer stretches on position and running a safety agency like a business. The two right-leaning accounts do not contradict each other. A reader of the silent side misses the standoff entirely, including worker claims that fatigue and understaffing now put the flying public at heightened risk. Right-leaning coverage leads with rank-and-file revolt and an administrator's "capitalist approach." Its follow-up then shifts to Democratic senators branding the delay hostage-taking, without returning to the suicide and overtime details that filled the first report. Has the administrator made a formal finding that the statute's efficiency test is unmet, or has the raise simply gone unsigned?
Bottom line

Left-leaning outlets have not reported that air traffic controllers' remaining 2.8 percent raise is still unpaid after Congress funded it, a dispute the Washington Examiner has put on the record.

The receipts — 6 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • FAA Administrator Bryan Bedford said the remaining 2.8% raise is on hold until the agency unlocks more productivity. official statementin Washington Examiner, CBS News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • More than 400 people identifying as FAA air traffic controllers privately contacted the publication after Bedford's interview. numberin Washington Examiner · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Controllers were eight times more likely to die by suicide than the national average in 2024. numberin Washington Examiner · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Duffy and Bedford reduced the certified-controller staffing target by 2,000 and declared there was no shortage. numberin Washington Examiner · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Facility representative Hanan Wiseman wrote that the productivity condition Bedford described on camera is one he invented. official statementin Washington Examiner · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • The National Transportation Safety Board told Congress that time on task over 90 minutes increased detection latency for complex events. official statementin Washington Examiner · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
The Washington Examiner, citing an August interview with Bedford and subsequent outreach it says came from more than 400 people identifying as FAA controllers, frames a morale and safety crisis: chronic understaffing, mandatory overtime and six-day weeks, pay lagging inflation, and Bedford treating a safety agency like a cost-cutting business by withholding the 2.8 percent raise until controllers work longer at the scopes. It reports a Boston TRACON union representative, Hanan Wiseman, calling Bedford’s conditions “gaslighting,” cites NTSB research on time-on-task and fatigue, claims 2024 controller suicides were eight times the national average (12 deaths, via FOIA), and notes early retirements, a leak about LaGuardia controllers leaving early, and criticism of NATCA leadership for staying quiet. A follow-up Examiner piece and CBS News both cover the Duckworth-Durbin letter calling the delay “hostage”-taking and warning that squeezing more utilization will hurt retention and safety. CBS also quotes the FAA on the administrator’s statutory discretion, NATCA on ongoing advocacy, and Duffy on record 2025 hiring; the Examiner quotes Durbin, a White House statement on hiring and modernization, and notes the FAA and DOT did not respond to its requests.
Our Take (balanced)
The core dispute is substantive and checkable: a named statute, a dollar amount, Bedford’s on-the-record linkage of the remaining 2.8 percent to productivity, a congressional letter, and on-the-record FAA, NATCA, White House, and Senate statements. Established facts include that Congress funded a 3.8 percent controller raise, that only the government-wide 1 percent has been paid, that the law leaves the rest to the administrator’s “sole discretion” after efficiency findings, and that Democratic senators have formally objected. Controller-sourced claims about suicide rates, specific facility culture, walk-off practices, and exact pay for named individuals remain alleged or Examiner-only unless independently documented; staffing shortfalls and high overtime are consistent with prior reporting (including that more than 90 percent of facilities were short-staffed) but the “400 controllers” tally and some safety inferences are not fully public. Center outlets have reported the senators’ letter; no left-leaning outlet has reported the broader Examiner exclusive on controller backlash, suicides, and Bedford’s productivity conditions. Watch for the FAA’s written determination (or continued non-determination) on the raise, any NATCA-FAA scheduling agreement, release of the FOIA suicide data, and the 2026 Controller Workforce Plan’s utilization metrics.

3 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.