OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

AI Assistants Could Trigger Bank Runs by Shifting Cash Apollo Economist Warns

2 sources · updated 2026-09-29
Left 50% Center 0% Right 50%
1 left · 0 center · 1 right

What happened

Apollo Global Management chief economist Torsten Sløk wrote in a Sunday note that if every household used AI agents to optimize returns on cash balances, banks could lose a large share of the cheap deposits they rely on to make loans. He compared FDIC national averages of 0.1% for checking and 0.4% for savings with 11 fintech and online accounts yielding 3.3% to 5%, and pointed to personal AI assistants such as Meta’s Muse, launched September 8. Plaid says its network gives Muse access to user-authorized data from more than 12,000 U.S. financial institutions but has not specified whether Muse can transfer money; Sløk described automatic cash sweeps as something that “could soon” happen rather than a current capability. Apollo runs an $849 billion credit arm that competes with banks in business lending and has said it aims to manage $1.2 trillion in private credit by 2029. Apollo’s press team said it had no further comment; Meta, Muse founder Noah Shinn, and Plaid did not provide immediate responses to press inquiries.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 2 articles

2 of 2 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 2 of 2
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Torsten Slok and Torsten Sløk
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 0 of 2
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: None cited.
Credits another outlet 0 of 2
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
Unnamed sources 0 of 2
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 28, 14:10 UTC by Business Insider, naming its source.
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Right-leaning coverage never mentions that the economist predicting a deposit flight works for a private-credit firm that already competes with banks. Left-leaning coverage reports that Apollo's credit arm is the largest non-bank lender, sitting on $849 billion. A reader missing that fact cannot weigh whether the warning is an independent reading of AI risk or a view from a rival in the lending business those deposits fund. Right-leaning coverage files the warning under a "wave of doomerism." Left-leaning coverage walks through the same cash-sweep argument as a banking-funding problem without that label. One version treats the Sunday note as more AI alarm. The other treats it as cheap deposits that could leave traditional lenders all at once. Would banks raise deposit rates on their own before any assistant could move the money?
Bottom line

The warning that AI agents could empty bank deposits came from Apollo, and only Business Insider noted the firm's $849 billion credit book already competes with those banks.

The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • Apollo runs an $849 billion credit arm that competes with banks in lending to businesses numberin Business Insider · absent from right-leaning coverage
  • Professor Shama Hyder said a run-like event needs millions of households to hand an AI agent the keys to their checking account, and they are not there yet contextin New York Post · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Plaid has not specified whether Muse can actually transfer money between accounts contextin New York Post · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Sløk framed automatic cash sweeps as something that could soon happen rather than a capability Muse currently possesses contextin New York Post · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Apollo has said it aims to manage $1.2 trillion in private credit by 2029 numberin Business Insider · absent from right-leaning coverage
The Left View
Business Insider foregrounds that Sløk’s employer is already “the largest player in non-bank lending,” tying the warning to a firm that competes with banks for credit business funded by cheap deposits. The outlet places the note in a recent surge of people using personal AI agents to optimize everyday finances, and reports that companies flooded by those agents are starting to block them—Amazon is preventing Muse from adding items to carts, citing violations of its conditions of use, a failure to identify itself, and scraping of account data.
The Right View
The New York Post casts the note as “the latest dire prediction about artificial intelligence in a wave of doomerism,” while spelling out the saver’s incentive: a $10,000 balance at 0.1% earns about $10 a year versus roughly $500 at 5%. It reports that Sløk “shied away from estimating how much money could ultimately move” or how fast, and quotes Shama Hyder, a professor of practice at Miami’s Link School of Business, saying he is right about the broader threat but “a run-like event needs millions of households to hand an AI agent the keys to their checking account, and they aren’t there yet,” because “people will use AI tools long before they trust them with the transfer button.” Hyder added that a bank depending on customers not shopping around “has a business model built on friction, and AI is very good at removing friction.”
Our Take (balanced)
The left-leaning account’s strongest argument is motive: the warning comes from the chief economist of a firm that already rivals banks in private credit, documented by Apollo’s $849 billion lending arm and $1.2 trillion target. The right-leaning account’s strongest argument is feasibility: Hyder’s claim that a deposit flight requires mass trust in an AI “transfer button,” reinforced by Plaid’s unspecified transfer capability and Sløk’s refusal to size or time any outflow. The unresolved tension is whether cheap-deposit inertia is a friction-dependent subsidy AI will soon erase, or whether a bank-run scenario still hinges on adoption, authorization, and automation that have not arrived.

2 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.