Repeat Offender Charged in Killing of Kentucky State Trooper
Left 0%
Center 0%
Right 100%
0 left · 0 center · 2 right
What happened
On Monday, Kentucky State Trooper Hayden Phillips, 30, a three-year veteran assigned to Post 3 in Bowling Green and father of three, was shot and killed during a traffic stop on Interstate 65 in Warren County, Kentucky. Authorities identified Emonnie Branch, 51, of Tennessee as the suspect, issued a statewide Blue Alert, and Louisville Metro Police took him into custody that evening. Branch was charged with murder of a first responder, denied bond, and held in Warren County. Tennessee records and prosecutors said he was on probation for a fraud-related conviction through July 2030, was already wanted for a probation violation, and had prior convictions including attempted domestic assault, violating a no-contact order, securities fraud, and a 2009 conviction for possessing a firearm as a convicted felon.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 3 articles
3 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report.
What these terms mean and how they're counted
- On the record · names a source 3 of 3
- On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: U.S. Attorney Kyle Bumgarner, Kentucky State Police Commissioner Col. Phillip Burnett Jr., Kentucky State Police, Sumner County District Attorney Thomas Dean and Commonwealth’s Attorney Kori Bumgarner
- Primary evidence · cites a document or data 1 of 3
- Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: court records, police statement
- Credits another outlet 0 of 3
- The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
- Unnamed sources 0 of 3
- The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
- How it developed
- When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 29, 02:23 UTC by Fox News, naming its source. First document the next day, from New York Post (court records).
- Not counted 0
- Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT.
Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story
— the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out
Unpacked
Left-leaning coverage is silent on this story, so those readers would not know a Kentucky state trooper was killed during a traffic stop by a man already on probation and wanted for a violation. Right-leaning coverage reports that Trooper Hayden Phillips, a father of three, was shot on a Kentucky interstate and that Emonnie Branch was captured the same evening. Those outlets also report a prior conviction for illegally possessing a firearm as a felon.
Right-leaning coverage did not treat the criminal record the same way throughout. One Fox News report said authorities had not said whether Branch had a prior criminal record. A follow-up Fox News story and the New York Post instead lead with the phrase "repeat offender with lengthy rap sheet."
What none of the coverage answers is why Branch was still at large on a Kentucky interstate if he was already wanted for violating probation.
Bottom line
Left-leaning outlets have not reported that a Kentucky trooper was gunned down on a traffic stop. Fox News says the accused was already wanted for a probation violation, with supervision set to last until 2030.
The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
- Emonnie Branch was on probation and already wanted for a probation violation when accused of killing Trooper Hayden Phillips
- Branch was serving five years of probation scheduled to end in July 2030
- Court records showed a 2009 conviction for illegally possessing a firearm as a convicted felon
- Branch was arrested twice this year for probation violations
- Branch was denied bond on a charge of murder of a first responder
The Right View
Fox News and the New York Post reported Phillips’s death and framed Branch as a repeat offender who was on probation and already wanted. They cited Tennessee Department of Correction records, Warren County jail records, and comments from Sumner County District Attorney Thomas Dean and Commonwealth’s Attorney Kori Bumgarner describing an extensive criminal history, including assault, fraud, illegal gun possession, and two probation-violation arrests this year. Coverage quoted U.S. Attorney Kyle Bumgarner that Phillips was “senselessly murdered” and left a wife and three young sons, Kentucky State Police Commissioner Col. Phillip Burnett Jr. pledging to seek justice, widow Jordan Phillips’s public grief, and Gov. Andy Beshear’s order of flags at half-staff.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: named victim and accused, named prosecutors and police officials, and checkable correction, jail, and court records rather than a single uncorroborated claim. Established facts include that Phillips was killed during the I-65 stop, that Branch was identified, arrested, charged with murder of a first responder, and held without bond, and that records show probation status and prior convictions. The killing itself remains alleged pending trial; authorities have not publicly stated why the vehicle was stopped. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for charging documents, a full criminal-history docket, the reason for the stop, and court filings as the case proceeds.
3 sources
More stories
The week's bottom lines, in your inbox
One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.