Gymnastics Coach Sentenced to 90 Years for Recording Girls
Left 0%
Center 33%
Right 67%
0 left · 1 center · 2 right
What happened
Sean Gardner, a 39-year-old youth gymnastics coach, was sentenced Wednesday to 90 years in federal prison after pleading guilty to three counts of producing child pornography. U.S. District Judge Kristi Johnson imposed the maximum 30 years on each count for Gardner’s placement of a hidden camera in a bathroom at a gymnastics studio in Purvis, Mississippi, between December 2017 and April 2018. Investigators said he created videos with close-up images of at least 10 minors naked or undressing; the material was recovered years later from his computers during an FBI inquiry into separate sexual-abuse claims in Iowa. The FBI arrested Gardner last summer; that arrest was first reported by the Associated Press. Gardner has not been charged in connection with the Iowa allegations.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 3 articles
3 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report.
What these terms mean and how they're counted
- On the record · names a source 3 of 3
- On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Kristi Johnson, AP and FBI
- Primary evidence · cites a document or data 1 of 3
- Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: court sentencing, FBI affidavit
- Credits another outlet 0 of 3
- The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
- Unnamed sources 0 of 3
- The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
- How it developed
- When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Oct 14, 23:47 UTC by CBS News, naming its source. First document in the first report, from CBS News (court sentencing).
- Not counted 0
- Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT.
Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story
— the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out
Unpacked
Left-leaning coverage has not reported this sentencing at all. Right-leaning coverage says Sean Gardner received a 90-year prison term, the maximum, after pleading guilty to secretly recording students in a Mississippi gym bathroom. Right-leaning coverage also says USA Gymnastics and SafeSport were notified in 2017 and did not remove him for years. A reader of the silent side therefore misses both the sentence and the claim that sport authorities had been warned years before his 2022 suspension.
Right-leaning coverage leads with that maximum term and a comparison to Larry Nassar. It does not state that agents seized 50 videos from Gardner's home. It also does not name the Iowa gymnasts who later alleged he touched them while spotting, and those claims have not produced charges.
What did USA Gymnastics do after Gardner's Mississippi boss emailed in January 2018 about his grooming behavior, before he took a new job coaching girls in Iowa?
Bottom line
Fox News reported that Sean Gardner got 90 years for recording gymnasts in a bathroom; a reader of left-leaning outlets would not know the conviction happened.
The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
- Sean Gardner was sentenced to 90 years in prison, 30 years on each of three federal child pornography production charges.
- Investigators recovered videos showing close-up images of at least 10 minors naked or undressing.
- Investigators seized approximately 400 photos from Gardner's residence.
- SafeSport said Chow and other coaches had been aware of sexual-misconduct allegations against Gardner but failed to report them as required.
- Gardner is allegedly seen turning off the hidden camera in one of the videos.
The Right View
Fox News reported that Gardner received the maximum 90-year sentence and presented the case as another instance in which U.S. gymnastics athletes were not adequately protected, citing Larry Nassar’s conviction. The outlet described the Mississippi hidden-camera recordings, the later recovery of the videos during the Iowa investigation, and claims in police reports and civil lawsuits that former students at Chow’s Gymnastics and Dance Institute in West Des Moines said Gardner used his position to prey on them. Fox also reported that some women in the federal case argued USA Gymnastics and the U.S. Center for SafeSport were notified of his behavior in 2017 but did not remove him for years; that he was suspended in 2022 after a Chow’s gymnast accused him of sexual abuse and was then fired; and that SafeSport found Chow and other coaches had been aware of sexual-misconduct allegations and failed to report them as required. Remaining lawsuits against Gardner, USA Gymnastics, and Chow’s Gymnastics were noted, as was the fact that Iowa authorities have not yet charged him.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it rests on a federal guilty plea, a named judge’s maximum sentence, an FBI investigation, and recovered video and photo evidence of a defined crime—hidden-camera recordings of at least 10 minors in a Mississippi gym bathroom in 2017–2018. Those facts are established. Separate Iowa sexual-abuse claims remain uncharged allegations. Assertions that USA Gymnastics and SafeSport were warned in 2017 and failed to act, and that Chow and other coaches knew of misconduct and did not report it, are made in civil lawsuits, by former students, and in SafeSport’s later findings; they are not the basis of the 90-year sentence. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for charging decisions in Iowa, the course of civil suits against Gardner, USA Gymnastics, and Chow’s gym, and any official records or responses from SafeSport and USA Gymnastics.
3 sources
More stories
The week's bottom lines, in your inbox
One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.