OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

FBI Thwarts ISIS-Inspired Mass Casualty Attack in Pennsylvania

6 sources · updated 2026-09-17
Left 0% Center 100% Right 0%
0 left · 4 center · 0 right

What happened

On September 12, 2026, FBI agents arrested 21-year-old Jonathan Kramer of Valencia, Pennsylvania, outside a hotel in Cranberry Township after he obtained a rifle and ammunition. He was charged with receiving a firearm and ammunition knowing or having reasonable cause to believe they would be used to commit a felony or a federal crime of terrorism. Authorities say Kramer used the online alias Hamza Al Rashid, pledged allegiance to ISIS, and discussed attack methods with an FBI confidential source after a March 2026 tip. A search recovered a semiautomatic rifle, about 190 rounds of ammunition, magazines, a scope, 30 knives, and a handwritten note. Kramer had been adjudicated delinquent in 2023 as a juvenile for possessing child sexual abuse material and for a plot to commit a mass casualty incident.
Sourcing check · Fully on the record · 6 articles

5 of 5 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 5 of 5
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: John Eisenberg, FBI, U.S. Department of Justice, Todd Blanche, Richard Evanchec and Troy Rivetti
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 3 of 5
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: court documents, federal criminal complaint, court paperwork
Credits another outlet 0 of 5
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
Unnamed sources 0 of 5
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 15, 10:33 UTC by Daily Wire, naming its source. First document in the first report, from Daily Wire (court documents).
Not counted 1
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT. Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story — the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Left-leaning coverage has not reported this arrest. Right-leaning coverage describes FBI agents stopping a Pennsylvania man they say was preparing an ISIS-inspired mass-casualty attack after months of surveillance. Daily Wire reports he was taken into custody after securing a rifle. Right-leaning coverage also notes a 2023 juvenile case for a prior mass-casualty plot. A reader who sees only left-leaning outlets would miss officials' claim that the country came close to a devastating attack. Right-leaning coverage splits on emphasis. FBI Director Kash Patel's claim of higher disruption totals leads OAN, a frame Daily Wire skips. Encrypted chats about preparing for a "mission" are instead the through-line in Daily Wire. Has anyone been charged for handing him the rifle in the parking lot, and did investigators name a target?
Bottom line

Left-leaning outlets have not reported the FBI's Pennsylvania arrest at all, even as Daily Wire says agents grabbed a man who already had a rifle for what he called his mission.

The receipts — 5 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • FBI arrested Jonathan Kramer after he obtained a rifle they say he planned to use in an ISIS-inspired mass shooting individual casein Daily Wire, OAN · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Agents seized approximately 190 rounds of rifle ammunition numberin Daily Wire, OAN · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Kramer had 2023 juvenile charges for possessing child pornography and planning a mass casualty attack contextin Daily Wire, OAN · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • An account linked to Kramer described using smoke bombs and pepper spray to blind a crowd at choke points contextin Daily Wire · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • FBI special agent said Kramer recorded a pledge of allegiance to the Islamic State official statementin CBS News · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
The Daily Wire and One America News Network reported a foiled ISIS-inspired mass-casualty plot, stressing Kramer's online ISIS propaganda, statements about a "mission," months of FBI surveillance after a March 2026 tip, a Walmart parking-lot bag handoff, a cash hotel stay, and seized weapons. They quoted Attorney General Todd Blanche, FBI Director Kash Patel, and other officials describing a near-miss attack and praising the disruption. CBS News reported the same core arrest, charge, seized rifle, ammunition, and knives, and officials' description of Kramer as having pledged allegiance to ISIS and shared attack methods; CBS noted that authorities did not specify a target, date, or location for the alleged attack.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it rests on a named defendant, a federal criminal complaint, a public press conference, specific dates and places, and physical evidence described in court filings. Established facts include Kramer's September 12, 2026 arrest, the charge filed, the items seized, his 2023 juvenile adjudication, and the FBI's account of a confidential-source operation. Still alleged and unproven in court are that he intended an ISIS-inspired mass-casualty attack, that the rifle was obtained for a terrorist mission, and any particular target or timing. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for the preliminary examination, the unsealed affidavit, a detention ruling, and whether prosecutors name a target or add charges.

6 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.