OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

FBI Files Reveal Anonymous Donor Paid for Trump Assassin Cremation

4 sources · updated 2026-09-17
Left 0% Center 0% Right 100%
0 left · 0 center · 4 right

What happened

On July 13, 2024, 20-year-old Thomas Matthew Crooks opened fire at a Donald Trump campaign rally in Butler, Pennsylvania, grazing Trump’s ear, killing spectator Corey Comperatore, and wounding two others; Crooks was then killed by a U.S. Secret Service counter-sniper. After Allegheny County completed an autopsy, the FBI approved release of Crooks’ body to a funeral home on July 22, 2024, and it was cremated. FBI records summarizing an interview with Crooks’ father, Matthew Crooks, state that an anonymous donor paid for the cremation; those records were later provided to Senate investigators. Rep. Clay Higgins (R-LA), a member of a bipartisan congressional task force on the attempt, later argued the FBI should have preserved the body for further examination. The same FBI interview notes also recorded that Crooks used the alias “Bob Dole” for online purchases and that his parents were not working at the time of the attack.
Sourcing check · Mostly on the record · 4 articles

2 of 4 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report. Most articles credit New York Post rather than reporting it themselves.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 2 of 4
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: New York Post, Clay Higgins, Kevin Rojek, Rep. Clay Higgins and Chuck Grassley
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 3 of 4
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: FBI files, federal documents, federal records
Credits another outlet 2 of 4
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: New York Post
Unnamed sources 1 of 4
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 15, 12:25 UTC by Daily Wire, naming its source. First document in the first report, from Daily Wire (FBI files).
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
ONE-SIDED THIS WEEK. Only right-leaning outlets have covered this story in the last two days; NBC News reported it on 2026-09-16.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Right-leaning coverage reports FBI files showing an anonymous donor paid to cremate Thomas Crooks after the Butler rally shooting. Left-leaning coverage has not reported the story. A reader of that silent side would miss Daily Wire's report that the cremation "eliminated the possibility of conducting further testing." Breitbart covers the same records but never mentions the donor or the cremation. Daily Wire leads with the cremation payment and a lawmaker's complaint that evidence was destroyed before a fuller exam. Fox News leads with the Bob Dole alias used for online orders and with a father who said his son had no friends through high school. Who paid for the cremation, and did FBI investigators ever learn the donor's name?
Bottom line

FBI files say an anonymous donor paid to cremate Thomas Crooks, and Daily Wire dates the body's release to July 22. Left-leaning outlets have not reported that.

The receipts — 6 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • FBI files note that an anonymous donor paid for Thomas Crooks's cremation official statementin Daily Wire, Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Crooks's body was released to a funeral home on July 22 and cremated numberin Daily Wire · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Rep. Clay Higgins said the FBI approved the release without informing Congress official statementin Daily Wire · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • FBI Pittsburgh SAC Kevin Rojek said it is not standard procedure to keep a deceased subject's body once investigative purposes are completed official statementin Daily Wire · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Neither parent was working at the time of the attack, according to the FBI files contextin Daily Wire · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Crooks used the Bob Dole alias to receive parts, tools, and items to increase his rifle's capacity individual casein Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
Right-leaning outlets including The Daily Wire, Fox News, Breitbart, and the Daily Caller, citing FBI records viewed by the New York Post and documents provided to Senate Judiciary Chairman Chuck Grassley, reported that an anonymous donor paid to cremate Crooks. They highlighted Higgins’s finding that, with FBI approval and without informing Congress, the body was released on July 22 and cremated, which he said eliminated further testing, and they contrasted that with the FBI’s statement that it is not standard to keep a deceased subject’s body indefinitely after investigative needs are met. Coverage also relayed the FBI interview with Matthew Crooks: the shooter had no friends through high school, used the Bob Dole alias after a bank hack to receive packages including rifle parts and tools, was emotionally reserved, and grew increasingly focused on guns. Outlets framed the unnamed payment and rapid cremation as unresolved questions about evidence preservation and who funded the funeral.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it rests on named FBI interview summaries, documents provided to the Senate, and on-the-record comments from Rep. Clay Higgins and FBI Pittsburgh Special Agent in Charge Kevin Rojek. Established facts are that Crooks was cremated after a July 22, 2024 body release following autopsy; that FBI notes of the Matthew Crooks interview state an anonymous donor paid for cremation; that Crooks used a Bob Dole alias for packages; and that Higgins objected to the pace of cremation. Unestablished are the donor’s identity, affiliation, and motive, and whether further forensic value was actually lost. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for public release or fuller quoting of the underlying FBI records, any identification of the donor, an official FBI or medical-examiner statement specifically addressing the payment, and further congressional document releases.

4 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.