OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

Data Center Offers Pennsylvania Town $10K

3 sources · updated 2026-09-30
Left 0% Center 0% Right 100%
0 left · 0 center · 3 right

What happened

NorthPoint Development has offered households in and near Hazle Township, Pennsylvania, $10,000 each if a proposed data center in the Pocono foothills is approved, according to letters sent this summer. The company has described the household payments as totaling about $45 million and has also proposed about $120 million in additional community payments over 15 years. Hazle Township previously rejected the project on zoning grounds and later imposed a temporary moratorium on data-center construction. Residents quoted in subsequent reporting were divided, with some considering the money and others opposing the project over noise, light, property values, and other local impacts.
Sourcing check · Mostly on the record · 3 articles

2 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report, credited to The Wall Street Journal.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 2 of 3
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Jeff Fasnacht and Ed Negra
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 0 of 3
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: None cited.
Credits another outlet 1 of 3
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: The Wall Street Journal
Unnamed sources 0 of 3
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Sep 28, 15:23 UTC by New York Post, crediting The Wall Street Journal, naming its source.
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
BLINDSPOT. Only right-leaning outlets are covering this story — the other side's media is silent.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Left-leaning coverage has not reported this story at all. Right-leaning coverage reports that NorthPoint Development offered $10,000 to each household in Hazle Township if a data center is built, and that many residents are still rejecting the money. A reader of the silent side would not know a $45 million payout is on the table, or that some locals call the checks a possible bribe. Right-leaning outlets split on the project's status. The New York Post presents the developer as still seeking approvals, while Breitbart reports a prior zoning rejection and a township moratorium. Breitbart's headline casts the money as checks "to Drop Opposition," a condition neither article documents as binding on each household. Would a household have to drop its opposition to receive the check, or is everyone paid if the project is approved?
Bottom line

Hazle Township households were offered $10,000 each if a data center is approved, a fight the New York Post says many residents still refuse. Left-leaning outlets have not reported the offer.

The receipts — 4 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • NorthPoint offered $10,000 to each Hazle Township household, totaling $45 million numberin New York Post · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Hazle Township rejected the project on zoning last year and imposed a temporary moratorium on data-center construction official statementin Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • NorthPoint plans an additional $120 million in payments to the town over 15 years numberin New York Post, Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Offer letters began arriving in June contextin Breitbart · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
The New York Post and Breitbart, relying largely on Wall Street Journal reporting, present the $10,000 household checks as an unusually direct attempt by NorthPoint to overcome local resistance to a large data center. They report that many residents still oppose the project, citing noise and light, property values, water and energy use, distrust of the developer, and unease about AI, and they quote locals who call the payments a bribe or say $10,000 would not offset downsides. Coverage places the offer in a national pattern of data-center pushback, noting community-fund pledges, festival sponsorships, a prior raucous public meeting, and bipartisan political resistance including actions by Govs. Greg Abbott, Kathy Hochul, and Josh Shapiro. Breitbart additionally cites a 1,300-acre project scale, roughly 4,500 eligible households, June offer letters, and broader figures on delayed or canceled data-center projects and opposition groups.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive: it involves a named developer (NorthPoint Development), a named municipality (Hazle Township), specific dollar amounts, a prior zoning rejection and moratorium, and on-the-record quotes from named residents and from NorthPoint marketing officer Brent Miles, originally reported by the Wall Street Journal. Established facts include that offer letters were sent and that local government has already blocked or paused the project; unsettled are whether the payments will change the township’s stance, the precise number of eligible households (outlets cite 10,460 residents versus about 4,500 households), and a direct company response to outlets other than the Journal. No left-leaning outlet has reported this. Watch for the underlying WSJ account and primary documents (offer letters, zoning vote, moratorium text), a formal NorthPoint statement, and the next Hazle Township decision on the project or the pause.

3 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.