OMITTED

What the news leaves out.

← Omitted front page

Trump Accuses Michigan Senate Candidate of Muslim Brotherhood Ties

3 sources · updated 2026-10-17
Left 0% Center 0% Right 100%
0 left · 0 center · 3 right

What happened

Democratic U.S. Senate candidate Abdul El-Sayed of Michigan has denied having family ties to the Muslim Brotherhood after 2012 and 2013 social media posts by his half-sister, University of Chicago professor Eman Abdelhadi, described their mother, Fatten Elkomy, and other relatives as involved with the group in Egypt. El-Sayed, born in Rochester Hills, Michigan, in 1984, has said his parents divorced when he was three, that he was not raised by his biological mother, and that he has not discussed the alleged activity with her. In October interviews on NBC’s Meet the Press and Nightly News, he said he has “no ties,” called the claims hearsay from tweets, and said Republican opponent Mike Rogers was using them against him. President Donald Trump separately told Michigan voters that El-Sayed is a Muslim Brotherhood member. As of mid-October, NBC had questioned El-Sayed on camera; Fox News reported that ABC, CBS, CNN, MS NOW, and The New York Times had not published dedicated reports on the allegations.
Sourcing check · Mostly on the record · 3 articles

2 of 3 articles cite a named source for the story. It was on the record from the first report. Abby Phillip denied part of it on the record.

What these terms mean and how they're counted
On the record · names a source 2 of 3
On the record means the article cites a source by name for the story's main claim: a person, or an institution speaking officially, such as a company statement or a named agency's spokesperson. The opposite is an unnamed source. The count is how many of the counted articles cite at least one such source; the names are everyone named across them, each once however the articles spell it. Here: Jacob Soboroff, Erica Hill, Jesse Arm and Donald Trump
Primary evidence · cites a document or data 1 of 3
Primary evidence means the article cites a record you could check yourself: a court filing or ruling, a dataset or report, a recording or transcript, an official statement or press release, market data. A quote is not a document. The count is how many articles cite one. Here: campaign finance reports
Credits another outlet 0 of 3
The article says the story comes from another outlet's reporting (“first reported by Reuters”). Those articles relay the story; they are not independent confirmation. Here: Each article presents its own reporting.
Unnamed sources 0 of 3
The main claim is attributed to people who are not identified: “people familiar with the matter”, “officials said”. The count is how many articles do this.
On-record denial 1
A named person or institution says the claim, or part of it, is not true. It is on the record — someone signed their name to it — but it is not confirmation, so it never counts toward On the record. Criticizing or dissenting from a decision is not a denial. The count is how many people or institutions deny it; each is listed with the first article that carried the denial. Here: Abby Phillip (Fox News, Oct 16, 14:46 UTC)
How it developed
When the first report landed and whether it named anyone; when the first named source and the first document appeared. Here: First report Oct 16, 14:46 UTC by Fox News, naming its source. First document 5 hours later, from Washington Examiner (campaign finance reports).
Not counted 0
Opinion, analysis and video pieces, and articles too short to assess. Every count above is out of the counted articles. An article republished under a new headline is one article.
This is about who is cited, not whether the story is true. Each source below says what it names. How we count
ONE-SIDED THIS WEEK. Only right-leaning outlets have covered this story in the last two days; The Guardian reported it on 2026-10-11.
Omitted — what each side leaves out

Unpacked

Right-leaning coverage reports that Democratic Senate candidate Abdul El-Sayed denied having any family ties to the Muslim Brotherhood after his half-sister posted that their mother was active in the group. One cited post said the family had "long been MB." He was asked twice on NBC, including on Meet the Press, and said no and later called the material hearsay from a tweet. Right-leaning outlets do not agree how far the charge goes. OAN reports President Trump calling El-Sayed a Muslim Brotherhood member without citing the family posts, while Fox News focuses on those posts and his denials. He told an NBC anchor he was born in Michigan and was not raised around events in Egypt decades earlier. Left-leaning coverage has not reported the allegations at all, so a reader on that side would miss the half-sister posts, the on-air denials, and the split between a family-tie story and a claim that the candidate himself belongs to the group. What evidence, aside from his half-sister's old posts, shows El-Sayed or his mother belonged to the Muslim Brotherhood?
Bottom line

Left-leaning outlets have not reported the 2012 posts in which El-Sayed's half-sister described Muslim Brotherhood activism in their family, so the only version in circulation is a split one: Fox News on relatives, OAN on Trump's membership charge.

The receipts — 4 facts one side's coverage lacks
  • El-Sayed's half-sister Eman Abdelhadi posted in 2012 that she talked with her mom about her activism in the Muslim Brotherhood during the early 70s while she was in college individual casein Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Abdelhadi posted in 2013 that she was praying for all her family that supports the MB in Egypt individual casein Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • Their mother Fatten Elkomy attended Egypt's Alexandria University, which a Brookings Institution report said had strong Muslim Brotherhood activity in the 1970s contextin Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
  • El-Sayed told NBC he had not had conversations with his mother about her alleged Muslim Brotherhood activity official statementin Fox News · absent from left-leaning coverage
The Right View
Right-leaning outlets present Abdelhadi’s posts as contradicting El-Sayed’s denials and as evidence of family Muslim Brotherhood involvement that much of national television and The New York Times have not treated as a standalone story. Fox News quoted a 2012 post in which Abdelhadi described an “amazing talk” with her mother about “activism in the Muslim Brotherhood during the early 70s,” another 2012 post stating “My family has long been MB,” and a 2013 post praying for relatives who “support the #MB in #Egypt,” and noted Elkomy’s attendance at Alexandria University, which a Brookings Institution report associated with Brotherhood activity in the 1970s. Fox reported that ABC and CBS had not mentioned the allegations on morning or evening broadcasts as of Oct. 15, that CBS later noted only El-Sayed’s denial, that CNN and MS NOW had no dedicated reports, that CNN hosts disputed conservative guests’ characterizations, and that the Times had no story that week; NBC’s Kristen Welker and Tom Llamas did press El-Sayed, who rejected a connection. One America News highlighted Trump’s claim that El-Sayed is “100%” a Muslim Brotherhood member and a radical. Separately, the Washington Examiner reported his campaign had spent $58,065 on private security while he has advocated sending social workers rather than police to some 911 calls, and cited earlier comments questioning police force size that he has since walked back on defunding.
Our Take (balanced)
The story is substantive in its checkable core and thin in any claim that El-Sayed himself belongs to the Muslim Brotherhood. Named, dated posts, named relatives, on-the-record NBC interviews, and named political attacks are on the record; independent documents proving Fatten Elkomy’s Brotherhood membership, or any membership or operational role for El-Sayed, are not in this reporting. Established: Abdelhadi wrote the quoted posts; El-Sayed was born in Michigan in 1984, says he was not raised by his mother after an early divorce, and has repeatedly denied personal or family ties; Rogers and Trump have accused him. Alleged and uncorroborated here: that Elkomy’s 1970s college years made her an MB activist beyond her daughter’s recollection, that El-Sayed shares that history or ideology, and Trump’s assertion that he is “100%” a member. Fox’s review found ABC, CBS, CNN, MS NOW, and The New York Times without dedicated reports as of the dates cited, while NBC did question the candidate; that coverage gap is a fact of the record given here. Watch for on-the-record replies from Abdelhadi and Elkomy, the full surviving text and context of the posts, any contemporaneous Egyptian or academic documentation, and whether other national desks match NBC with primary reporting.

3 sources

The week's bottom lines, in your inbox

One email a week: the five stories that mattered and what they actually mean. Free.